Adam Radwan

Leicester Tigers A 31 Falcons Development Team 29

Monday 19 September 2016

A last-minute penalty denied Newcastle Falcons' Development Team what would have been a remarkable comeback victory at Welford Road on Monday as Leicester Tigers claimed a 31-29 triumph.

Newcastle had battled back from 22-0 down to lead 29-28 going into the final play in an epic A-League encounter, home fly-half George Worth slotting the decisive kick.

The Tigers stormed out of the blocks and led 19-0 at the interval, captain Harry Thacker among their try-scorers as Freddie Tuilagi and Harry Wells dotted down.

Tigers added a further penalty to create what seemed an unassailable advantage, the Falcons beginning their fightback when Doncaster prop Joe Sproston crossed the whitewash following a driving maul.

Zach Kibirige added a second as the speedster won a race to the ball in goal, three Worth penalties keeping the Tigers well ahead.

Fly-half Craig Willis sped in for the Falcons' third try as cracks began to show in Leicester's defence, the visitors finding a bonus-point fourth try when Kibirige grounded for the second time.

Replacement Adam Radwan, a star for the Falcons in the Singha 7s earlier this summer, looked to have found a late winner when his solo try put Newcastle a single point ahead, but when Worth sent over a penalty with the final play the victory was sealed for the home side.

Newcastle Falcons Development Team

15 Tom Catterick

14 Dan Marshall

13 Ben Stevenson

12 Fred Burdon

11 Zach Kibirige

10 Craig Willis

9 Sam Egerton

1 Adam Brocklebank

2 Kyle Cooper

3 Andrew Foster

4 Andrew Davidson

5 Nick Civetta

6 David Nelson

7 Max Davies

8 Joshua Chisanga


16 Santiago Socino

17 Piers Goodwill

18 Joe Sproston

19 Ed Falkingham

20 Archie Erskine

21 Sam Edgerley

22 Brett Connon

23 Adam Radwan

Leicester Tigers

Leicester Tigers Development XV

15 Harry Simmons

14 Tom Brady

13 Matt Smith

12 Charlie Thacker

11 Adam Thompstone

10 George Worth

9 Jono Kitto

1 Logoviā€™i Mulipola

2 Greg Bateman

3 Fraser Balmain

4 Harry Wells

5 Sam Lewis

6 Will Owen

7 Harry Thacker (captain)

8 Fred Tuilagi


16 Harry Mahoney

17 Michele Rizzo

18 Ben Betts

19 Sam Grahamslaw

20 Ben White

21 Sam Yawayawa

22 Jordan Olowofela

23 Andy Brown

Latest Gallery

Become A Junior Falcon

Win the Jackpot