Falcons to face Scottish Super6 sides

Thursday 12 September 2019

Newcastle Falcons have announced their additional and academy fixtures for the 2019-20 season.

With no A-League games this year the Falcons will play cross-border matches against all of the teams from Scotland's new Super 6 competition - Heriot's, Stirling County, Southern Knights, Watsonians, Ayrshire Bulls and Boroughmuir Bears - as well as matches against the South of Scotland and the British Army.

The visit of Melrose-based Southern Knights to Kingston Park Stadium on Saturday December 28 is expected to prove popular on a weekend where the Falcons have no league or cup fixture. Ticket prices for that game will be announced in due course, with the day including a charity partnership.

All of the other home fixtures against the Scottish Super 6 sides will have free entry for all spectators.

Director of rugby Dean Richards said: "Our matches against the Scottish Super 6 teams will allow us the chance to give meaningful game time to a number of our players in the absence of A-League rugby.

"We have always enjoyed a great relationship with the Scottish clubs, and our home game against Southern Knights on December 28 in particular promises to be a great occasion which should hopefully attract a good crowd."

The Falcons have also confirmed a number of fixtures for their Under-18s, 17s, 16s and 15s teams, as well as their Gosforth Academy AASE side.

It is anticipated that further games will be confirmed during the season, with details to be announced via the club website.

NEWCASTLE FALCONS XV FIXTURES

Sun Oct 6: v Heriot's (home, 3pm)

Sat Oct 19: v Heriot's (away, 2.30pm)

Sat Nov 2: v Stirling County (home, 4.30pm)

Sat Dec 28: v Southern Knights (home, 3pm)

Sat Jan 11: v Watsonians (away, 3pm)

Sat Feb 1: v Ayrshire Bulls (home, 7.30pm)

Fri Mar 20: v South of Scotland (venue and time TBC)

Fri Apr 3: v Boroughmuir Bears (home, 7.30pm)

Mon Apr 20: v British Army (home, time TBC)

UNDER-18s FIXTURES

Sat Dec 21: v Wasps (home, 2pm)

Sat Dec 28: v Leicester (away, 2pm)

Sun Jan 12: v Sale Sharks (home, 2pm)

Sat Jan 18: v Worcester (away, 2pm)

Sat Jan 25: v Yorkshire Carnegie (away, 2pm)

Sat Feb 8: v Northampton (home, 2pm)

UNDER-17s FIXTURES

Sat Feb 1: v North of England U18s (home, 1pm)

Wed Mar 3: v Borders U17 (home, 7.30pm)

Sun Mar 15: v Coventry U17 (away, 2pm)

Sun Mar 22: Festival v Yorkshire & Wasps (venue TBC)

UNDER-16s FIXTURES

Sat Mar 21: Festival v Yorkshire & Sale (venue TBC)

Sun Mar 29: v Scotland U16 (away, venue and time TBC)

Sat April 4: RFU Academy festival (venue TBC)

UNDER-15s FIXTURES

Sun Apr 26: v Sale Sharks & Yorkshire Carnegie (venue and time TBC)

Sun May 3: RFU Academy festival (venue TBC)

AASE TEAM FIXTURES

Wed Sep 18: v Moulton (home, 4pm)

Wed Sep 25: v Brooksby Melton (away, 4pm)

Wed Oct 2: v Myerscough (home, 4pm)

Wed Oct 9: v Stourport (away, 4pm)

Wed Oct 16: v Oaklands (home, 4pm)

Latest Gallery

Become A Junior Falcon

Win the Jackpot